October Check in

liz-in-office-chaos2
The writer in her natural habitat.

Currently Harping: Um . . . Not much, I’m afraid. My harp tuning wrench has gone missing and until it turns up again, I have to contend with sour notes. Ah well, I’ll be tidying up for the holidays soon and it will likely be found under the pile of papers on my desk or among the manuscripts on one of my shelves, or under the cat in my basket of juggling toys.
I could have made up for lost time by playing the keyboard, guitar, flute, recorder, or ukulele, but there are only so many hours in a day. This week has been one long push to get a different goal off my plate and I’m happy to report it was successful. Now I can relax and start up the Halloween themed music, which is actually enhanced if played a little off key. 🙂

Currently Writing: As mentioned, I’ve focused all efforts on getting my e-book, Hunt Club, formatted and tidied up for printing. It is done and sent as of yesterday, and if all goes well, I’ll have a physical copy in my hands very soon. I’m still a little anxious as the printed medium tends to reveal still more issues to be corrected, but until the first copy arrives it is out of my control.  I’ve done all I can for now.
This means I can finally let it go and focus on other things for a few days. Like my next novel, which has been proceeding at a snails pace, and the Hunt Club sequel, which I am outlining this month in preparation for National Novel Writing Month in November. This year, I hope to become a plotter rather than a pantser and see if I can make some solid progress on cranking this story out. I need to learn to work faster while making the story as good or better than the previous one. Perhaps if I’m better organized this year, more of my word sprints will actually move the tale forward. Here’s hoping.

Currently Entertaining: No one as far as I can tell. The phone has not been ringing of late and writing takes up most of my time these days. My geographical area appears to be overrun with face painters, many of them better than me, and I’m becoming a little discouraged. I’m good at balloon animals and general clowning too, but the media seems to delight in exaggerated reports of scary clowns terrorizing the populace. I think donning the greasepaint in October might be the equivalent of masquerading as a white tail during deer season. I’m considering other options, but mostly I’m busy scribbling.

Currently Growing: I attempted to start some kale seeds this week in my vertical window gardens and played a bit with my fairy landscapes. Mostly, this week has been about nurturing the plants I already have. There comes a point in late summer when I just give up for about a month because it is too hot to exert myself outside and the plants are all shriveling in the heat anyway. It can be hard to recover from the apathy.

Fortunately, the garden is pretty well established this year. I water every other day now and usually come in with a handful of okra, tomatoes, runner beans, chard, or edible flowers. I want to start some winter greens and flowers but am having trouble getting motivated. Maybe now that the book is done . . .

Miscellany: I signed up yesterday for NaNoWriMo. Why my idea of fun is to complicate the month I’m already hosting a big family dinner and trying to prepare for the Yuletide insanity with a demanding scribbling challenge is a question I am not prepared to answer. Happily, though, I’m not the only one, so if any of you decide to participate and want to friend me on the forums, I’m listed there as Ms Whatsit.

ROW#80 Update

  1. Get Hunt Club set up for printing. Done at last. Yes!!!!!!!
  2. Average ½ hour a day working on new novel. Nope. I completed number one instead. 🙂
  3. Average ½ hour a day on promotion and blogs. Technically yes I am doing this. Now if I can just learn to create a blog within the time limit, you may start hearing more from me.
  4. Finish reading a book and write a review. Nope.

It’s a new round and my major task is out of the way, so I’m going to add a new goal.

5) Outline the sequel for Hunt Club and be ready to write it by November.

This is a very exciting task and I’ve already made a start on it. Here’s hoping you all are having an good week too.

008
Nimbus supervises my writing efforts.

 

4 thoughts on “October Check in

  1. I don’t know who ever came up with holding NaNoWriMo in November. That is one of my top three busiest months of the year, and I think a lot of people will agree. I only signed up for NaNo once, and though I came close to finishing, it was way too stressful. I know it helps to be accountable to someone other than just yourself, but I am going to try to write as much on my novel this month as I can, and to heck with November.
    Have a great week. Good luck with the Harp.

  2. Awesome about getting Hunt Club ready!

    Also cool about Nano. I will most likely be a rebeller b/c I have a revision to finish and it’s on a tight deadline. So I may try to write something, we will see. Good luck with the plotting.

Leave a Reply

