She Enjoys Teas

“Stay hydrated,” they said. “It’ll be good for you,” they said.

Thus began my terrible addiction to dihydrogen monoxide.
Eight glasses a day. Seven days a week.  I just couldn’t get the monkey off my back.

That all changed when I moved to Rogers Arkansas. The taste of water is always a little weird when you move to a new place, but I had the misfortune of arriving at a certain part of year in which the lakes were, as a local explained to me, “turning over.”  Due to certain weather conditions, they were rearranging themselves and the result was that the water, despite the utilities filtration system, tasted terrible.

I had a general liking for tea though, and had a few boxes in my cupboard. I began using them. Soon all my water was tea. Big jars of cold brew. Little cups of hot. Jasmine and lavender, green and black, mint and chai.

To be fair, some of those jars in my refrigerator are not actually tea. Occasionally there is cold brewed coffee, flavored fizz water, lemonade, or cucumber water. Not all at once though. There wouldn’t be room for tea.

It is summer and I do a lot of cold brewing. Cold brew is like sun tea, only you put the jar in the fridge and leave it there longer. It diffuses in those nice cool conditions and is delicious over ice. I drink it all summer.

Lately though, I have come to realize there might be a problem. I walked through a store a few days ago and the enticing scent of cinnamon and apples drew me to the tea aisle. The autumn teas were coming out. I was tempted to buy some. Unfortunately, it’s hard to justify purchasing more tea when your cupboard looks like this.

001Perhaps I need an intervention. 🙂

Do comment if you are also a tea lover. Do you have a favorite? A favored brewing method? A collection that takes up half your pantry?

Of course, those still suffering from dihydrogen monoxide addiction should remain in our thoughts and prayers. Do not be ashamed if you are one of them. Instead, speak up and let the healing begin.

 

 

ROW#80 Update

  1. Spend an hour a day formatting Hunt Club for print. Got in a few hours progress setting up the cover and proofreading. It’s really close to being ready so I’m having trouble taking it seriously. I think I may be a little scared of sending my baby out into the world as a print book.
  2. Average ½ hour a day working on new novel. I put in another about an hour.
  3. Average ½ hour a day on promotion and blogs. Up to date and then some. Put in an inquiry for a possible book signing. I’m also working on brevity where blogs are concerned.
  4. Finish reading a book and write a review. Nope.

In general, I feel like I’m standing still. It has been hard in the last few days to motivate myself.

Hopefully this week will be better.

One thought on “She Enjoys Teas

  1. “You cry in your tea which you hurl in the sea when you see me go by.” -King George, “Hamilton”

    i like tea all right, and one of my kids loves it, as do a couple of dear friends. So I’ve got a nice little connection – and prefer dihydrogen monoxide, sometimes after it’s run through ground and mangled coffee beans.

    Maybe you’re gearing up for some writing intensity. I hope so!

Leave a Reply

