Warrior Princess

1356,1,0,0,256,265,671,1,0,92,52,0,0,100

Great pic, right? That’s me. . . The epitome of fitness. I look pretty awesome in this photo.
Unfortunately, it was taken a few years ago. I’ve gained a little weight since then. OK, I’ve gained a lot of weight and I need to do something about it.

Lifestyle changes are never easy though. In “Spa,” a short story I wrote some years ago, my main character desperately wanted to lose weight and went through some horrifying measures to do so. The story was inspired by a nightmare I had while on a strict weight loss regimen. I am a very patient and moderate dieter but a reduction diet always amounts to a kind of slow starvation. Ah well, such things build character.

I’ve been through the weight loss process dozens of times. Since my early teens, the bathroom scale has pointed to numbers ranging from 130 all the way up to 260. Over the years I’ve learned to moderate my food intake, work out regularly, and stay active in any way I can. My weight has remained well below the high mark for over a decade and I’ve long since given up the former anorexic ideal. The real goal is not to look like a fashion model, but rather to look healthy like in the picture above.

Currently, my appearance is more on the pudgy side. I’ve been practicing my yoga, walking or dancing to the radio, and working at a standing desk. I basically do all the half measures, but they aren’t enough. It’s time for me to toughen up.

1356,1,0,0,285,256,554,1,3,48,37,0,1,109
Me again, a few quite a few years ago.

When I participate in health forums, I use the name Xena because weight loss is a battle. The enemy is within, but the fight is a worthy one and the prize is better health. I’ve lost some ground but am strategizing on how to move the skirmish line forward again. The good news is I don’t have to do it alone. There are dozens of websites out there featuring helpful information and peer support, many of which don’t cost a dime. With some serious effort and a little luck, maybe I will eventually feel more like posting a more current selfie instead of these old ones. Here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

