Of Harpers, Writers, and the Passage of Time…

Once upon a time, (April of 2007), I started a blog on Freewebs. You can still look it up if you want at the following link.

http://www.freewebs.com/harpwriter/ .

I play the harp and I write, so the Harpwriter name was a good fit.  It didn’t hurt that my older sibling, a professional harpist and singer, was already using the handle Harpsinger. It made us sound related, which is OK since we are.

A Google search of my blog name some years ago revealed another Harpwriter. She was a successful science fiction writer who also played the harp. Surprised and a little jealous (I had nothing but reject slips for all my efforts), imagining she was probably also a better harpist than me (I play a mere folk harp with more enthusiasm than skill), I feared she would one day learn about me, think I had stolen her name, and demand that my blog be shut down. Rather than let that happen ten years down the road, I decided to introduce myself.

It turned out to be a positive experience. She didn’t seem at all concerned about our similar names, and it was very inspiring to meet someone pursuing the same interests. Maybe some day, I’ll even get to meet her in person.

My own Harpwriter blog went on for about three years. At that point I attempted to change blog platforms, but lost patience with the technology and found plenty of other projects to distract me.

Enough with the past, though. I’m back, ready to give it another shot. Today, I Googled the name again and found it has become a very popular handle.

I am not so vain as to think the other users of this name stole the idea from me, any more than I did from the other Harpwriter.  More likely they have also scribbled stories, played harps, and had the excellent taste to come up with the same name we did. A group like that must have plenty of other things in common. It would probably be great fun to gather them all together for a combination writing workshop and harp jam session.

For now, though, I’m just happy to still be doing my own harping and writing, and incidentally, starting up this blog again.

Thanks for stopping by and reading.

One thought on “Of Harpers, Writers, and the Passage of Time…

  1. Along these lines, years ago I got an email from another “harpsinger”. Her website is Harpsinger.com, mine is Harpsinger.net. We had both been using the name for a number of years, & agreed to share & be friends 🙂 More recently I’ve been phasing out harpsinger in favor of going by Terri HarpLady 🙂
    Love & hugs, sis, & thanks for starting up your blog again. Hopefully you will motivate me to get back to work on mine!

Leave a Reply

